1999 Ford F150

FireEMSPolice

May 21, 2010
Ohio
I am getting to the point where I am ready to upfit this truck. Lights and stuff are mostly what I have laying around. Not looking to get to crazy with it. I have never worked on a pick-up truck before.

Anyone ever worked on the 10th generation (97-03) F-150's?
Do you have pics of where you drill the corners and taillights for strobes?
How can I route the cables from the rear taillights to the power supply in the cab?
How did you run the wiring through the firewall?

Thanks in advance!!

Jarred J.

Lifetime VIP Donor
May 21, 2010
Shelbyville, TN
Check under neath the seats towards the back of the cab look for black grommets

Doyle257

Jan 13, 2015
Cheektowaga, NY
best bet will be to pull up the carpet to find the grommets. they are there.

StEaLtH2

Mar 3, 2011
New England
Make your own hole in the cab. You must disassemble and pull back the flooring but use a nice sharp pilot drill, then a step bit, keep them cool/oiled. Inspect from underneath prior to drilling but plans to allow a drop loop a bit, and the first tie wrap location under the bed should factor into location. Make sure to file/deburr both sides of the hole, I usually have loom over them and then silicone the hole, allow to cure and reassemble.
Generally I follow the frame rail/factory harnesses when running to the rear, are the strobe cable ends uninstalled? That affects running them into the cab greatly..

StEaLtH2

Mar 3, 2011
New England
Just remembered I wanted to ask for pics of the corners and tail lights to provide insight on best location. Also grommet mount or screw in matters as well because it's possible the strobe is too "deep" into the housing and touches from inside. You are planning in the brake light portion of the tails?

FireEMSPolice

May 21, 2010
Ohio
Finally moving forward with this upfit, slowly but surely. I got my strobes. Where is the best place to drill on the front corners and rear tails? Again, I have never done a truck.