Help wiring a Touchmaster Delta

Eric1249

Jul 12, 2010
Waukesha WI USA
Today I got a used Touchmaster Delta. The first thing I noticed is there are 3 red wires that come out of the back (pos) an ign. wire and a ground. So I hooked up the ign wire and the ground. I found one of the 3 wires that powered the unit up. What could the other 2 wires be for?

When I power up the unit the air horn works. If I turn the know to wail or yelp, nothing. If flip the switch to test I can turn the knob to wail or yelp I can hear it. What am I doing wrong? I don't know if the lights on the slide switch are working properly or not since they do not light up. I watched videos of the siren on youtube and swtch 6 makes the siren scroll through the tones or works as a momantary switch. This one when pressed I can hear it click, but that is about it.

siren wires.jpg

Eric1249

Jul 12, 2010
Waukesha WI USA
I went on Youtube and in one of the videos I could see the guys wiring. I jumped position 8 to 12 and one of the power wires coming out of the back went to position 1. Then it worked. A bit of a strange set up

Benno

Jul 17, 2011
Germany
Eric1249 said:
... I found one of the 3 wires that powered the unit up....
That should be the "SIren" Wire, right?

Eric1249 said:
... What could the other 2 wires be for? ...
"W LTS" is the 12V supply for PIN 15, 16, 17

"ACCESS" is the 12V supply for the Accessory switches

JazzDad

Aug 5, 2011
USA
I'll tap into the Brain Trust that has responded with an unrelated question: Let's suppose you don't want to cut into your vehicle's horn circuit. Could you control the horn ring input (terminal 12) with a jumper to switch 6 (set to the momentary configuration)?

shues

Lifetime VIP Donor
May 21, 2010
NW Indiana
JazzDad said: