Installation Question (Best Practice)

JazzDad

Aug 5, 2011
USA
If you are installing an entire lighting package that includes a dash light, do you usually insert a M-F connector set on that light, so the fixture can be removed for future servicing or replacement?

ryan_turner

Nov 16, 2015
Memphis, TN
While I'm not a professional vehicle upfitter, I do a good bit of wiring. Low voltage, networking, and RF gear (LMR, WLAN, and soon some LTE).

Time: I'm of the opinion that this equipment should not be so prone to failure as to justify adding connectors inline. It's different if your vehicle is frequently changing, due to this being a hobby or demonstration vehicle. Connectors take time to install -- I can cut the wire and do a butt or lap splice faster than I can install a 4 pin connector.

Cost: Good connectors aren't that cheap.

Complexity: It introduces another point that may fail in your system. It also introduces connector loss, though that's not a concerning design criteria for these low current DC systems. In the auto industry, there's a phrase "stop comebacks". I don't want an issue to occur because of a faulty installation.

For these reasons, I do not.

Last edited:
Reactions: JazzDad and PJD642

StEaLtH2

Mar 3, 2011
New England
I've been known to buy the dual outlet lighter splitter that plugs in the lighter and has two outlets with their own wires, I cut that apart and wire the outlet in under the dash with the light in question plugged in and taped up safe where it cannot be switched off by Murphy and also so as not to void the lights warranty by cutting the factory plug. Mind you it's either a pov or plow vehicle for the most part.

CHIEFOPS

Jan 24, 2011
NYC
I install a switched cigarette jac for these applications, the light can be removed whenever needed.

MtnMan

Dec 20, 2012
Eastern PA