Whelen Edge/9M questions

PJD642

May 20, 2010
east of Cleveland
**I checked sticky threads and didn't see answers to these questions. Probably see obvious to everyone who works with these things every day, but I'm still learning. If I overlooked a thread with the info here, please point out the correct thread & move this one**

I've got a bunch of 400 & 700 series lightheads I was gonna use to build a custom Jet bar, but am now thinking I want to build a mini-Edge bar instead. Since I don't have one to look at and measure, I've got questions:

- Edge & 9M bars are the same for all practical intents, at least as far a mounting 400 and 700 series LED heads, right?

- Ultra Edge bars are deeper front-to-back than regular Edge bars, and need different end caps? Any other differences?

- How much do the end caps overlap the frame on the ends, and how much room do the black spacers take up between lenses? (I'm trying to figure out how long a piece frame I will need to build the bar I'm picturing)

- What is the correct name for the additional mounting pieces I will need to hold the 400/700 series LED heads in place?

- Do the 400 series heads fit into the ends of the bar where alley lights normally are, or do I need special mounts for those too?

Any other specific information I ought to know before I start this? Recommendations (other than the classifieds here, naturally) for lenses & other parts at a good price?

shues

Lifetime VIP Donor
May 21, 2010
NW Indiana
I have just gone through some of this myself. I'll answer the questions I can.

PJD642 said:
- Edge & 9M bars are the same for all practical intents, at least as far a mounting 400 and 700 series LED heads, right?
I believe so. However, you can't get modular corner modules to mount in an Edge 9000 frame extrusion without first cutting/grinding off the lower inner mounting tab. It does not slide into the extrusion, as there is no channel for it:

ai.imgur.com_ihtzV.jpg

ai.imgur.com_lu2nA.jpg