Advice needed for mounting my first lightbar (Whelen Mini Edge)

Stimpy911

Nov 23, 2011
USA / Michigan
Vehicle: 2004 Ford Explorer

Lightbar: Whelen Mini Edge with Mag Mounts.  Its not LED but it was FREE which makes it even better right now.  lol

This is my first attempt at installing a light bar.  I am only running the wires at this point.  I am just getting ready for someone else to do the electrical part of the install.  I am going to drill a hole in my roof and I want to run the wire down the inside of the door to the middle console.  I am going to put in a HAVIS console for a 2004 Explorer once I have enough money to do so.

I am not worried about drilling a hole in my vehicle roof.  I do not plan on trading this vehicle in or selling it.  It has 140,000 miles on it.

Questions:

1.  What type of drill bit should I use to drill the hole?

2.  What type of sealant should I use around the wire going into the hole?

3.  Any suggestions about the best way to wire inside a Ford Explorer?

4.  Any tips for placement of the lightbar on my roof using MAG Mounts?

Anything else you can think of?

I plan on installing my siren at some point too but that will be a later topic.

Thanks in advance for all of your help.

lightbar1.jpg

lightbar2.jpg

lightbar3.jpg

lightbar4.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

chief1562

Mar 18, 2011
Slaterville/NY
Take the light to the hardware store and find a grommet that the cable will go through. And pick up a small tube of clear silicone.

Then find out what size hole you'll need. Most likely will need a hole saw.

Before any drilling you'll need to remove the headliner makes it easier to run the wire through the roof and less likely to drill a hole in it.

While you're in there taking the headliner down decide how you want to run the wire most likely down the pillar take of the trim off for that.Now once you done all that you can decide where you want the light to sit.