Code3 SD NIGHTPROBE

Cxp20338

Newbie
Original poster
Jun 23, 2022
9
Chattanooga
Hello all, I am currently the new owner of a Code3 SD Nightprobe. I have located some wiring issues UNDER the rotator plate. Is there a trick to getting to the wires WITHOUT disassembling the rotators?
 

Attachments

  • received_1655518498153223.jpeg
    received_1655518498153223.jpeg
    113.8 KB · Views: 18
  • Screenshot_20220805-151800_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20220805-151800_Gallery.jpg
    65.7 KB · Views: 18

JohnMarcson

Site Founder
Administrator
May 7, 2010
9,949
Northwest Ohio
Taking the old style rotators off isn't bad. I think it is easier than "working under them". If it is a full nite probe you probably want to see each contact point as well as the main power contacts anyway.
 

Cxp20338

Newbie
Original poster
Jun 23, 2022
9
Chattanooga
Taking the old style rotators off isn't bad. I think it is easier than "working under them". If it is a full nite probe you probably want to see each contact point as well as the main power contacts anyway.
received_1086134022280489.jpeg


This is a wire under the tray going directly to the rotator assembly. It obviously got hot, and is potentially shorting out. Can the rotators be removed without removing the bulbs?
 

Benno

Junior Member
Jul 17, 2011
276
Germany
Hello all, I am currently the new owner of a Code3 SD Nightprobe. I have located some wiring issues UNDER the rotator plate. Is there a trick to getting to the wires WITHOUT disassembling the rotators?
I think no!
To get to the brushes, the lamp holders have to be removed. If you have to go directly to the cables under the plate, then this plate must also be removed.

I'm currently working on an SD with Nightprobe and SelectAlert. Maybe these pictures will help you a bit:
IMG_4185a.jpgIMG_4192a.jpgIMG_4204a.jpg


Could you please take some detailed pictures of wiring at the terminal block? Unfortunately, there was not much left of the original wiring on my SD, so I have to completely reconstruct it.
IMG_4189.JPG
 
  • Like
Reactions: JohnMarcson

Benno

Junior Member
Jul 17, 2011
276
Germany
This is a wire under the tray going directly to the rotator assembly. It obviously got hot, and is potentially shorting out. Can the rotators be removed without removing the bulbs?
Yes, you only have to loosen the drive belt and remove the Pin (red arrow) - then you can remove the lamp holder together with the bulbs.
-16b.jpg

Can you tell me (and maybe also take some pictures) what is attached to the top of the lamp holder (blue circle)?
 

Cxp20338

Newbie
Original poster
Jun 23, 2022
9
Chattanooga
Yes, you only have to loosen the drive belt and remove the Pin (red arrow) - then you can remove the lamp holder together with the bulbs.
View attachment 238103

Can you tell me (and maybe also take some pictures) what is attached to the top of the lamp holder (blue circle)?
The dual filaments are GE 4454. Here are some pictures.
 

Attachments

  • 20220806_033928.jpg
    20220806_033928.jpg
    76.4 KB · Views: 5
  • 20220806_033922.jpg
    20220806_033922.jpg
    87.1 KB · Views: 7
  • 20220806_033915.jpg
    20220806_033915.jpg
    77.3 KB · Views: 6
  • 20220806_033908.jpg
    20220806_033908.jpg
    83.9 KB · Views: 8
  • 20220806_033857.jpg
    20220806_033857.jpg
    105 KB · Views: 8
  • 20220806_033849.jpg
    20220806_033849.jpg
    85.5 KB · Views: 8
  • 20220806_033832.jpg
    20220806_033832.jpg
    65.4 KB · Views: 6
  • 20220806_033814.jpg
    20220806_033814.jpg
    79.4 KB · Views: 9

Cxp20338

Newbie
Original poster
Jun 23, 2022
9
Chattanooga
Take note, my bar appears to have fewer options than yours. I only have electrical contacts on the two outboard rotators. The front cutout is misleading. I believe mine only has the alley function.
 

Benno

Junior Member
Jul 17, 2011
276
Germany
Take note, my bar appears to have fewer options than yours. I only have electrical contacts on the two outboard rotators. The front cutout is misleading. I believe mine only has the alley function.
Right, without brushes on the inner rotator it is "only" a standard one.
Do you have a Nightprobe controller? If not the following Patent with a (schematic) wiring diagram would may be helpful.

The combination of Nightprobe and SelectAlert Rotating Pods (rear only) makes the wiring many times more complicated.

Thanks for the pictures! They show me some details - that are missing at my SD.
 

Benno

Junior Member
Jul 17, 2011
276
Germany
Mostly the old ones can be reused.
I will use 1x20mm or 2x25mm :) I guess that would be 1/16 x 7/8
 

Lyle

Member
Oct 28, 2012
278
Maine
Sorry to cut in on this post,,, but I thought a NightProbe was a spotlight system for the MX7000 and the like. Please educate me!
 

Cxp20338

Newbie
Original poster
Jun 23, 2022
9
Chattanooga
Sorry to cut in on this post,,, but I thought a NightProbe was a spotlight system for the MX7000 and the like. Please educate me!
Nightprobe was a very early option for code3. It was similar to select alert in that it offered takedowns, and alleys on bars. They were NOT common at all, less so than selec alert. Finding an Nightprobe bar is almost like finding a unicorn. Just happened upon mine through sheer luck, and a friend who instantly recognized what it was.
 

Attachments

  • FB_IMG_1659805376979.jpg
    FB_IMG_1659805376979.jpg
    224.5 KB · Views: 9
  • Like
Reactions: ccsd834

Lyle

Member
Oct 28, 2012
278
Maine
Nightprobe was a very early option for code3. It was similar to select alert in that it offered takedowns, and alleys on bars. They were NOT common at all, less so than selec alert. Finding an Nightprobe bar is almost like finding a unicorn. Just happened upon mine through sheer luck, and a friend who instantly recognized what it was.
VERY cool, never knew that!
 

RS485

Lifetime VIP Donor
Aug 5, 2019
183
Central MA
Let me know if you are able to locate more diodes. I wasn't able to find anything with those numbers. Think one on my bar is bad.
Looks like the diode has part number "1N1199" (I believe the 7704 is manufacturer's date code i.e. 40th week of 1977). This diode is rated to handle 12AMPs up to 50 volts according a datasheet I found.
Hope this helps
 

Online Community Members

Search for a Member

About us

  • Since 1997, eLightbars has been the premier venue for all things emergency warning equipment. Discussions, classified listings, pictures, videos, chat, & more! We strive to keep our staff members strive to keep the forums organized and clutter-free. All of our offerings are free-of-charge with all costs offset by banner advertising. Premium offerings are available to improve your experience.

User Menu

Secure Browsing

eLightbars.org uses SSL to secure all traffic between our server and your browsing device. All actions and transactions within are secured by Sectigo SSL with high-strength encryption.