Dual Color Wiring Help

dasuriano

Sep 14, 2010
Colorado
I'm having some issues trying to wrap my head around how to wire everything together how I want.

I have a mix of Feniex dual color, Sound off Mpower duo/trio, and Whelen Trio lights. I have a Unitrol Touchmaster Delta siren controller that I'd like to continue using.

I would like to have the slide switch control the lighting, but have two separate switches for color controls. One turns on the red, one turns on the blue, which would allow me to run control them independently.
Switch one does the back
Switch two adds the front, minus the interior lights
Switch three adds interior lights and white lights.

I'd also like to have the white override functionality on the soundoff lights controlled via the buttons on the touchmaster.

I'm used to single color lights with a flasher controlling them. The dual color functionality is puzzling me.

Jarred J.

Lifetime VIP Donor
May 21, 2010
Shelbyville, TN
The short answer is it's not easily possible...

In order to use your slide switch the way you would like, is you would need to have your slide switch positions power a double pole single throw switch. Aka an on off on.

You would put each color on one side of the switch. On the white over rides if it's a 3rd wire them you could add that to the touch master independently.

shues

Lifetime VIP Donor
May 21, 2010
NW Indiana
It's not as difficult as Jarred makes it seem. All you need is one ON-ON 3PDT switch. Such a switch has nine contacts total, and completes three circuits (poles) in either of two directions (throws). Something like the Carling HL251-73 should suit your needs.

Connect the three outputs from your progressive slide switch to the three common terminals. Connect the three red mode wires to their respective terminals on one side of the switch and connect the three blue mode wires to their respective terminals on the other side of the switch.

shues

Lifetime VIP Donor
May 21, 2010
NW Indiana