Federal Signal Q2B into a bumper install

wfd67

May 25, 2010
San Francisco area, CA
Tried the search and got nothin, and the Federal install doc was hazy to my novice read.

We've got a 83 Pierce with the "v" base for a bumper mount Q2B, but not the budget to go retail (and with ELB and eBay, why go retail.). The V very much appears to be the factory's clone to the Q-MT bracket I saw on the FedSig site.

Most of the Qs I see are pedestal mount on the used market (again, novice here), and not sure if thats a whole different body, or just something lurking under the pedestal and easily accessed.

Anyone with insights? I'd hate to buy and find myself with a shelf ornament, or end up with the vaguely worded "flush" mount sirens (one like that on eBay right now) that lack the bits to attach it into that V mount.

Thanks all!

Last edited by a moderator:

Torpedo

May 9, 2012
USA Fl
I don't think it correct however at the plant in Ocala they mounted Q's by 4 countersunk flat head type screws (after drilling and counter sinking tool) through the rear of the stator. 5/16" I believe. I do not think there's any difference in the Q2b pedestal vs. flush product as they would regularly remove pedestal and rear cone and semi flush mount them into CS900's and other engines. The cones always got used eventually when one would get damaged on line on the ped. mounted ones. If you have a V bracket I would use it. Anybody in group from Riverside Cali? We built many Ford CS800 for them before they were discontinued by Ford. I think they got the last ones. Maybe they could tell me if these sirens fell out or failed otherwise.

:|

Torpedo

May 9, 2012
USA Fl