Help PLS! Code 3 Mastercom

ff516

Mar 9, 2011
USA MO
I have a Code 3 Mastercom siren with 6 light controls. I have it all hooked up correctly and the speaker worked fine with my last unit. The airhorn sounds very distorted, kinda like a mix between the airhorn and siren. Any ideas? Could this be a wiring issue if I don't have a large enough wire feeding the power and the ground? Also, it seems that the wail peaks and holds for a few seconds before descending. Could these things be caused by dirty connections or a dirty siren board?

This is not my siren, it is one I found on YouTube that sounds exactly like my issue. It just doesn't sound right to me or is this just normal for this model siren? This is a 3892L6 Mastercom B. This is the newer model Mastercom that has the indicator light to the left of the rotary switch vs. to the right like on the older models. On the older models, you can also turn the siren off using the PA volume knob, newer models do not have this feature.

Last edited by a moderator:

chief1562

Mar 18, 2011
Slaterville/NY
How about a pic & model of the mastercom?

medic2078

Jul 10, 2010
USA, NJ
I believe that is normal for the Code3 sirens, as that is how our Code3 V-Cons and an RLS sound like. IMO, the Code3 airhorn tone sounds goofy.

chief1562

Mar 18, 2011
Slaterville/NY
ff516 said:
I have a Code 3 Mastercom siren with 6 light controls. I have it all hooked up correctly and the speaker worked fine with my last unit. The airhorn sounds very distorted, kinda like a mix between the airhorn and siren. Any ideas? Could this be a wiring issue if I don't have a large enough wire feeding the power and the ground? Also, it seems that the wail peaks and holds for a few seconds before descending. Could these things be caused by dirty connections or a dirty siren board?