HLF benefit of bidirectional?

billforbush

Jun 10, 2010
Northern Michigan
Just curious .... On HLF equipped vehicles, there is often a slight delay in one headlight illuminating when the high beams are applied (regardless of whether or not the flasher is on or off). I have never used the bidirectional type flasher (like Whelen 2150, etc.).

Do these units eliminate the delay? Any help appreciated.

Thanks

Bill

foxtrot5

Sep 26, 2011
Charleston Area, SC, US
billforbush said:
Just curious .... On HLF equipped vehicles, there is often a slight delay in one headlight illuminating when the high beams are applied (regardless of whether or not the flasher is on or off). I have never used the bidirectional type flasher (like Whelen 2150, etc.).

Thanks

Bill

While I have no experience with the flashers you're describing, I've never experienced any substantial delay in illumination of the high beams on any vehicle so equipped in the past. What brand/model flasher(s) are you using now?

billforbush

Jun 10, 2010
Northern Michigan
foxtrot5 said:
While I have no experience with the flashers you're describing, I've never experienced any substantial delay in illumination of the high beams on any vehicle so equipped in the past. What brand/model flasher(s) are you using now?

The current flasher is a Sound Off ETHFSS-SP and uses the typical blue/yellow installation between the right and left headlights. I understand that the bidirectional flashers have two wires per headlight and wonder if that would eliminate the delay. The delay is minimal but noticeable and is evident on the side where the flasher is installed.

I have had the same issue with other flashers, although I don't remember which ones. I live in a rural area now and often use the high beams momentarily to check for deer at night. The delay is annoying.

Thanks for any insight that you can provide.

Bill

Jtsou

Nov 6, 2011
NC
stfd717 said: