New Project: Sync'ing 2 Whelen Slimlighters

Status
Not open for further replies.

JM6402

May 21, 2010
Long Island, NY
Hey Elightbarers (I think that's grammatically correct?)

This weekend's project is going to be to sync my two Slimlighters. I currently have one R/R and one B/B. The plan is to remove the two drone halves (The ones without the flashers) and swap them. I then plan to solder both blue modules to one side of the flasher (On one of the Slimlighters), and both reds on the other. So in essence, I will only be using the internal flasher from one slimlighter.

If I was a good diagram artist I would make one, but I'm not. Is this going to work as well as I think it will, or am I better off just having them not sync'd?

-JM

Reactions: JohnMarcson

Hoff

Aug 2, 2011
SW Ohio/US
I think it's a good idea... keep us updated on this!

bigcat

May 20, 2010
Hartford County, CT
A buddy of mine was talking about doing something similar that you might want to entertain. He has a blue/blue slimlighter and an amber/amber slimlighter. He wants to mount both side by side out the back window on the headliner. He wants each light to be blue/amber though and have the blues alternate and the ambers alternate. Each color will be on its own flasher allowing for seperate switching and it'll be somewhat synced at times but still a little chaotic.

I was going to swap two heads so that the lights become B/A A/B when looking at them. Then simply extend the wiring from each flasher to control the same color head in the opposite light housing.

Otherwise if you go with your current plan, make sure the flasher output is capable of handling the load of two heads vs. just one. As long as it can, you'll be fine.

Flashguy

Jan 4, 2011
United States, Florida