Two Whelen CenCom questions

Tango7

Jul 7, 2020
Chicago Metro Area
Finally getting a chance to post this - been a loooong day. o_O

I've been looking at an all-in-one system for lighting control and siren. Looked at one of the Brookings/SoS 9-switch mini-panels, as well as some others like the Whelen PCCS9RW, but I don't want my truck overrun with farkle gear.:p I've driven enough marked units over the past decades to not have to have my POV look like one anymore. :cool:

The Whelen Cencom system seems amazing, but I have no practical experience with it, and although I've seen several for what seem to be good prices, I don't want to buy one until I can figure this out. Before I call Whelen direct, can you folks who know about it answer a few questions?

Issue 1: Color Choices.

When I last ran lights, I had an old school Unitrol slider in my POV set up like this:

SL1: Dash Light
SL2: Dash Light & Rear Deck Strobes
SL3: Dash Light, Rear Deck Strobes, headlight wig-wag and Tailgater (brake/backup flasher).

The warning lights were all blue, so it was relatively simple. I still have that switch somewhere now that I think about it...

Now, 25 years later, I'm trying to design a dual-color LED system for my F150, which is used for both Fire Department response (blue) and my electrical contracting business (amber) (as I've posted in other threads). I'm planning on buying an interior bar for the rear window of my cap that can function as a warning bar or a Traffic Advisor.

I'm trying to avoid an "all or nothing" switching arrangement.

I know that there will be different needs depending on what I'm doing (parked in an alley installing a fixture versus responding to or parked at a fire incident), but I'd like to arrange different switching for two sets of lights on a single control panel.

If I can, in addition to the Blue (only) or Amber (only) modes, I'd love to be able to alternate Blue/Amber as well.