Using 12v relay to switch ground

Sfd295

Jul 6, 2010
Massachusetts
Hi all,

I'm attempting to switch two red/white Whelen dome lights that are ground side triggered (3SRCCDCR). I wired two standard N.O. Tyco 5 pin relays (one per color) like this:
download.png
Everything works, but the relays make a god awful noise when the system powers up with ignition. It's a loud buzzing noise about 1 sec long and then stops. The lights flash on for a split second during this time period, which bothers the hell out of me. Once it goes through this though the circuit works just fine. (EDIT: Forgot to mention the relays are triggered by +12V through a Core system which receives door open signals via CAN).

Any idea what's going on here? Is there a different relay I should use that won't make this noise and flash the output? I'm far from an expert on relays. Any help is appreciated!

Thanks,
DCL

May 21, 2010
Minnesota
As long as it is wired as shown you should be good. The noise the relay is making is it cycling at an insane speed. Common when wired improperly or bad ground. I would start by confirming you have the terminals in the rite place. Next, remove the positive trigger and use another positive wire (like from the cig plug) to activate the relay. If they work fine then its an input signal issue. If the issue stays then likely improper install or bad relay. Simple test to do, would love to know the result and can go from there

Reactions: Sparky_911

JohnMarcson

Administrator
May 7, 2010
Northwest Ohio
Stupid question; why make them ground side switched? Core should support turning them into positive. Is it a wiringing thing or a power up time issue?