WeCAN Issue

DeadStone

May 26, 2020
2087 Stonefort RD
Hello helpful friends! I recently acquired a WeCan Liberty I lightbar and have run into some weird problems.

I have Command, and WeCAN 7 installed on a Windows 11 machine.

The control point module is a Gen II series.

If I build my lightbar and go to transfer the file to the control point, Command does not see that the control point is hooked up.

If I go into WeCAN 7, it does see the control point module, but does weird things.

Using the same bar configuration and writing it to the control point results in some light heads not powering at all, while some work just fine.

In the bottom corner of WeCAN 7, I also noticed when transferring to the lightbar 'Checksum Report Failed'

The most interesting part, if I flash the control point with a default Liberty configuration, all the modules light up and work correctly.

I am new to the WeCAN stuff and only have a basic understanding of how it works. Your help is very much appreciated!

Kind Regards,
Kody

In the lightbar build, do you have it selected as the Gen2 control point?

What is the MFG of the Liberty? I believe before a certain date you had to use an older wecan version to import the bar. This is a problem I had with liberty WC pre legacy series.

Did you try programming the CP through the older wecan software to see if it will take the programming?

Last edited:
Reactions: DeadStone
Upvote 0

What is the MFG of the Liberty? I believe before a certain date you had to use an older wecan version to import the bar. This is a problem I had with liberty WC pre legacy series.

Did you try programming the CP through the older wecan software to see if it will take the programming?
Hi, yes in WeCan 5 I tried programming it and have the same results. In WeCan5 I have it selected as the 18 Pin GenII controller.

As far as the date of MFG. I'm not too sure yet. I'm going to take it a part and have a look at the IO board.