Whelen Edge quit working when I replaced lenses

DocMiller

Newbie
I received an edge 9000 from a friend, it was all red lens and in NJ I can only have blue as a firefighter. I tested the light when I first got it by powering up the red wire and grounding the black wire. All the strobes worked. I also grounded the white/black wire and connected switched power to the green wire for left alley, yellow wire for right alley and the red wire for the take downs, everything worked as they should........all I did was switch out the left alley socket because it looked nasty and replaced the red lens with blue, now only take down and alley lights work, no strobes will function, and I don't know where to start with testing the power supply as it is a sealed unit.

light bar in a 9006, serial# 212428. module is an SL6. light bar has 6 strobes and a director bar, although I wasn't going to worry about that part.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I tried searching past forum posts but was unable to find anything matching my issue.
 

Attachments

  • 20210912_202612.jpg
    20210912_202612.jpg
    136.8 KB · Views: 2
Last edited by a moderator:

tsquale

Site Minion
Platinum Supporter
Take the lenses off and look at the left alley socket area first. Did you accidentally disconnect a ground wire for the power supply there? Check elsewhere in the bar to ensure ground connections are tight. That is my first inkling as to your issues.
 

DocMiller

Newbie
Thread Starter
Take the lenses off and look at the left alley socket area first. Did you accidentally disconnect a ground wire for the power supply there? Check elsewhere in the bar to ensure ground connections are tight. That is my first inkling as to your issues.
I checked all the connections and even tried plugging the original alley socket back in
 

DocMiller

Newbie
Thread Starter
Those power supplies had an inline fuse on the red wire a couple of inches out from
the power supply itself. Sometimes the I/O board had fuses on them also.
I checked the fuse and it wasn't popped, I also verified that there was power on both sides of the fuse with a test light
 

DocMiller

Newbie
Thread Starter
My POV, 96 Bronco with 5.8L police package. Was once a Texas Rangers vehicle that I bought off an auction site, Didn't have any rust until it spent a few winters here in NJ
 

Attachments

  • 228713880_4189585404451008_8923049579604670372_n.jpg
    228713880_4189585404451008_8923049579604670372_n.jpg
    261.1 KB · Views: 13

DocMiller

Newbie
Thread Starter
I have checked and re checked every connection and ground.......totally befuddled, and very disappointed. I was going to save money and buy an LED light bar, but thought the truck would look better with a light bar that was from the same time period as the truck, sigh
 

DocMiller

Newbie
Thread Starter
nothing is ever free I guess, I already have over $100 invested in new lenses and a new alley light, not to mention the mounting hardware I just ordered
 

DocMiller

Newbie
Thread Starter
Since you have power going to the power supply, it has to be a bad ground
OR your power supply took its last breath. You can still find those SL6 supplies floating around.
Is there a way to test the power supply to confirm it, or (Bones to Captain Kirk: "It's Dead Jim")
 

Pete L.

Hobbyist
Have you checked the I/O board ?
It should be in the bar where the main cable goes into the bar (if there is one).
 

Pete L.

Hobbyist
The only way to test the supply is to power it up (since you seem to have it out of the bar)
Hook up your strobe heads- the three 6 pin connectors.
Put 12volts to the red wire, ground the black.
Put 12 volts to the green and or blue wire to control pairs of strobes.
Violet controls high/low power for the strobes.
The white and brown wire control flash patterns.
Comet flash is the default pattern. 12v to the brown wire is double flash.
12v to the white wire is random flash. 12v to to both the brown and white wire
is sequential flash (my favorite)
 

DocMiller

Newbie
Thread Starter
Is there an improved power supply I could use? This one seems to have died
 

Attachments

  • 20210914_111841.jpg
    20210914_111841.jpg
    201.6 KB · Views: 7

DocMiller

Newbie
Thread Starter
It's just plug and play, yet for some reason once I changed the lenses it has decided to become inoperative
 

Stampeed Valkyrie

Senior Member
Silver Supporter
It's possible it just gave up the ghost. I can look through my stuff to see if I have anything left over from my time dealing with the Franken Edges. There might be a part# somewhere on that powersupply and you can try asking around to see if anyone has it.
 

jdh

Veteran Member
Question, what are you using to power the bar? I did not read what you were using. Can you power the supply with a good known 12v battery? The supply's need a good regulated 12v power.
 

Online statistics

Members online
4
Guests online
72
Total visitors
76

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
50,001
Messages
430,918
Members
17,902
Latest member
DietrichPlayRoblux50

Secure Browsing

Top Bottom