xts3000 Programming Software?

Nov 7, 2011
New England
Hey all, So I have an ht1000 but im probably going to be buying an xt3000 version I from a good buddy who is upgrading to the III. We would like to purchase software and a programming cable for PERSONAL USE for our radios. But I can't seem to find it anywhere. I think I have also heard things about licensing. its not going to be offered as a service, just personal use. What I DON'T want is to have to pay an arm and a leg to motorola for something I am going to be using for 2 of us, maybe a couple times a year if that. In my searches, I have also concluded that RIB-less cables are generally not liked? My knowledge of radios is decent, but I am new to programming. What's the cheapest way I can get set up with this software and hardware?

Last edited by a moderator:

tvsjr

Oct 7, 2012
TX
No RIBless cables for XTS3000. You'll need a RIB and cable.

Software is only available from Motorola at a cost of $265 for a 3 year subscription.

Steve0625

Jun 23, 2010
Northville NY
tvsjr said:
Software is only available from Motorola at a cost of $265 for a 3 year subscription.

+1. Motorola is extremely protective of their software and has been known to chase down and prosecute folks with pirate copies. The only legit way to get the software is the three year subscription via a Motorola Online account.

Many forums devoted to radio things have banned all talk of "how to get the software" except for the legitimate purchase described above. Since ELB has an active policy of cooperating with law enforcement, I would presume the same applies here.

Nov 7, 2011
New England
Steve0625 said:
+1. Motorola is extremely protective of their software and has been known to chase down and prosecute folks with pirate copies. The only legit way to get the software is the three year subscription via a Motorola Online account.