New to firefighting. I am going to be volunteering!

askderek19

Sep 4, 2012
Ohio,United States
Hi everyone, the name is Derek.

I am new to this in every way.

I am going to be training to be a 36 hour firefighter starting this weekend.

I have signed a contract for a year with the dept for volunteering there.

Biggest problem is my response time.

I am the farthest out from the station by 6-14 mins depending on traffic and stoplights.

If you guys have any tips, pointers, recommendations or anything I would appreciate it.

Also if you know what would be good to equip on a 2001 dodge durango, where the best deals are to get the equipment as well.

I work for min. wage and only make about 600 a month at the moment and anyway to find the best way to get it would be nice.

Thank you for reading this!

Derek!

Dpy_miller

Feb 10, 2012
Louisiana
askderek19 said:
Chillicothe, Ross county. Southern part.

Welcome Derek. What color lights are you allowed to run? What kind of equipment are you looking for? That way it'll give some ideas to other people here as in what to offer u.

askderek19

Sep 4, 2012
Ohio,United States
Dpy_miller said:
Welcome Derek. What color lights are you allowed to run? What kind of equipment are you looking for? That way it'll give some ideas to other people here as in what to offer u.

Thank you!

And I am not sure on the colors.

I am looking for sirens, lights, whatever would be helpful.

My dept. will supply me with gear but nothing for my vehicle.

My goal is to get from my house to the dept. in the least possible amount of time with the safest options.

Dpy_miller

Feb 10, 2012
Louisiana
askderek19 said:
Thank you!
And I am not sure on the colors.

I am looking for sirens, lights, whatever would be helpful.

My dept. will supply me with gear but nothing for my vehicle.

My goal is to get from my house to the dept. in the least possible amount of time with the safest options.

Check your messages I just sent you one.

Hoser

Jun 25, 2010
Ohio