The HAM Radio Thread

Ben E.

May 21, 2010
Iowa, USA
I've had my license for 11 years but I just started getting into HF (10 meters) within the last couple years. I'm a tech so 10 meter SSB voice is my only voice priveleges on HF.

When I first installed my 10m mobile rig in my Jeep I made a contact to Texas and Utah, and I thought that was pretty sweet. 10m is REALLY hopping the last 2 weeks and I've managed to make contacts from Iowa to the island of Maui, Hawaii (3974 miles) last week, and made one to Buenos Aires, Argentina (5710 miles) today on my way to work. That's pretty slammin for 80w mobile!

Any exciting radio crap that you guys have done can go here!

ryanm

May 20, 2010
Arkansas
What are you using for a rig and antenna?

I did contact Antigua on 6m while testing equipment prior to field day this year.

RescueWV

Dec 31, 2010
Central PA
KB3RVV here.

While we have about 8 different frequencies we are able to use throughout the business and public safety bands through our SAR team's membership in the Appalachian Search and Rescue Conference we still suggest that members who are able to get their ham license do so. Being able to use local repeaters as car-to-car communications while en-route or as backup communications on scene has proven to be useful on numerous occasions, especially given the topography of West Virginia.

I can't say I've done much exciting with ham radio, mostly using it for SAR response and occasionally volunteering with ARES sponsored events (although I'm not registered as an ARES operator).