Whelen Edge LED Conversion.

GreY2231

Oct 22, 2023
Germany
Hello, I am new to the forum.
I just recently bought a Whelen Edge Light bar. I currently have a Hänsch 975 DBS LED (German version of the Edge/Freedom)
I am pretty new to the scene and would like to convert the Edge to LED.

I mainly just visit Comic Cons and such with a group and use my '93 Blazer as a Police/Umbrella (Resident Evil) Prop vehicle on our stand. Other than that the truck is my Daily.

I purchased the light from a good friend and I have not picked it up yet. I only have a picture for now. I will go pick it up soon.
He says the Inner strobes stop working after a few minutes so i am wondering if the flasher board may be toast.
I want to convert 100% to LED Either way.

Do I need to get a different control board for the LEDs?
I know the 400 and 700 series from the Freedom will fit and have heard/read that the Ultra will not fit.
I also have the short caps so I know the corner lights need to be the short versions.

Since I live in Germany I have to rely on websites for parts and Information.
I have done a lot of online research but nothing really concrete that is easily understood by a lightbar Newb.

I am professional car/bike mechanic so I know my way around electronics very well. Including home appliances, I've repaired all my TVs to keep em going.

Also is it easy to tell from the Picture I have which lights it has? This way I can already start gathering info and prices on what I need to buy.

I appreciate any help and say thank you in advance.

Chris,

Attachments

• WhatsApp Image 2023-10-22 at 01.40.43.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2023-10-22 at 01.40.43.jpeg
    60.7 KB · Views: 29
thats a duplex bar, the biggest issue you are going to have is that the freedom bars dont use that frame size, the heads will not line up properly,
id suggest to try and find an ultra or 9m bar to use for the project
I have all the parts you will need and the option of just a bar built and read to go.