Applying for national registry emt

NJEMT

May 22, 2010
Essex County, NJ
So I was thinking of applying for my national registry for EMT-B. I was reading that I have to do a skills test over, do I really have to.

I have been an EMT in jersey for the past 4 years. I was thinking of going out to Ohio next summer for a summer job and was reading that in Ohio you need to have National Registry to apply for an Ohio EMT. I REALLY REALLY don't want to take a skills test again.

Klein

May 22, 2010
Texas
https://www.nremt.org/nremt/about/reg_basic_history.asp#Lapsed_Certification

Lapsed Certification

If your National EMS Certification lapsed as an EMT-Basic / EMT within a two year period or you are currently state licensed as an EMT-Basic / EMT, you can obtain National EMS Certification by completing a state-approved Refresher course and successfully completing the cognitive and psychomotor examinations. If your EMS certification expired more than two years ago, you must complete an entire state-approved EMT-Basic / EMT course and complete the cognitive and psychomotor examinations.

The EMT-Basic / EMT refresher course can be completed through two different options:

Traditional refresher course - an approved DOT National Standard EMT-Basic / EMT Refresher

Continuing education topical hours* - refresher may be completed by continuing education and must include the topics and hours listed below:

Topics Hours Required

Preparatory 1 hour

Airway 2 hours

OB, Infants, Children 2 hours

Patient Assessment 3 hours

Medical/Behavior 4 hours

Trauma 4 hours

Elective 8 hour

Total 24 hours

* Some states require the traditional refresher course and will not accept continuing education hours. Please refer to your state’s particular requirements.

** A maximum number of 10 hours CECBEMS approved Distributive Education can be applied to refresher education.

FireEMSPolice

May 21, 2010
Ohio
ark_firefighter said: