Bird Strike

Keith K.

May 21, 2010
Western States
Results of a Quail vs. a Whelen Liberty. Total damage amounted to a new lens, LIN6 module and module holder. The bird was DOA. While I was repairing the lightbar, I found bird seed throughout the inside of the lightbar...

ff168577

May 22, 2010
Levittown, Pa
Several years ago, I had a wreck on the Pa turnpike that involved a goose. It killed the driver of the van, leading him up a hill in to a bunch of trees, heavily pinning his wife(passenger), and 7 of her students that were traveling to Harrisburg for a week for a science convention.

Carlos SpicyWeiner

Lifetime VIP Donor
May 3, 2012
Lakeland, Florida
thats pretty intense

JazzDad

Aug 5, 2011
USA
Keith K. said:
... I found bird seed throughout the inside of the lightbar...

Partially digested bird seed! :puke:

PJD642

May 20, 2010
east of Cleveland
Hmph. Sissy lightbars they're selling nowadays. Back when I was a project cop I nailed a pigeon with a Streethawk attached to a caprice doing well over 80. Streethawk never flinched.

(And yeah, we needed the big engines in those Caprices to get over 80 with that giant brick wall on top of the cruiser. That was back in the days with speakers in the middle of the lightbar, hearing be damned!)

Jan 20, 2011
Lake of the Ozarks
PJD642 said:
Hmph. Sissy lightbars they're selling nowadays. Back when I was a project cop I nailed a pigeon with a Streethawk attached to a caprice doing well over 80. Streethawk never flinched.

(And yeah, we needed the big engines in those Caprices to get over 80 with that giant brick wall on top of the cruiser. That was back in the days with speakers in the middle of the lightbar, hearing be damned!)

The angled dome definitely helps it deflect the bird...if the dome was flat I don't think it would have survived. lol

NoVAFed

Dec 28, 2011
Earth, USA, Northern VA
PJD642 said:

What, I can't hear you?