Emergency driving in winter

justavillain

Mar 7, 2013
Grand Rapids
Now I've been a driver/operator/chauffeur on my department for a few years and know how to drive emergency.

We recently got 3" of Lake effect snow (light and fluffy) fallowed the next day by 4+ inches again. So the plows have been busy working and due to the 10 degree temperatures there is no salt just sand being applied.

So we receive a class 1 at a farm. I responded, our med squad (Chevy suburban) needed the stokes basket and requested the heavy rescue.

So I was maintaining the Fast lane left lane w/e you want to call it. But due to the snow it was 2 tracks in the lane. So slow going for sure till I turned on to the rural street and was down to a crawl.

My question relating to the long story is, if the conditions in the proper lane was more hazardous than the other would you drive in the other one even though it is not the proper one.

justavillain

Mar 7, 2013
Grand Rapids
Essentially it's snow covered road, 4 lanes split with a median. Proper lane of travel for emergency driving is left lane. Yet the right lane has less snow on it.

Would you drive the proper lane even though it's slightly more dangerous, or shift to the other lane because it has less snow, allowing more control.

There is no other roads any better, so route doesn't matter.

Zapp Brannigan

Lifetime VIP Donor
May 23, 2010
justavillain said:
Essentially it's snow covered road, 4 lanes split with a median. Proper lane of travel for emergency driving is left lane. Yet the right lane has less snow on it.

Would you drive the proper lane even though it's slightly more dangerous, or shift to the other lane because it has less snow, allowing more control.

There is no other roads any better, so route doesn't matter.

You do what is safest for yourself and crew. Hopefully SOP's would dictate that, and usually most leave the judgement to the MPO. The officer is a great resource, but he's typically not the one driving.