Federal Signal Smart Siren SS2000 Wire Guage Recommendation?

EMT-BLS

Oct 28, 2011
Waterbury, CT
hitman38367 said:
From what I understand, the backlighting cannot be permanently disabled. The indicator tone can be disabled via the correct programming sequence as specified in the manual. The horn ring function can be activated by a momentary switch. You have to wire the incoming side of the switch to a power source and then wire the outging side of the switch to the white wire designated "horn" on the wiring harness. The wire stated "horn ring" will not be used due to the fact that you are not wired into the actual horn circuit and you don't have to send signal thru it to sound the OEM horn like the Tap II system is designed to do. Be sure to fuse the incoming side as you would any other power feed. For what you have said that you want to do, this is what I know to do to get you there. I am not a professional installer, I am just an old skool shadetree installer that has learned from his mistakes and owns a SS2000. If you cannot get the horn ring function to work after fiddling with it, please save yourself some headache and take it to a licensed, certified pro. I am sure there is someone on this board that is a pro and lives close enough that you can get to help you. Just my $0.02.

Indeed, backlighting can not be dimmed as a setting. If it's that irksome, you'll have to manually dim it each and every time you power the unit up. As far as the horn ring...I will simply echo what we have been saying before, and urge you to find a professional installer to do it right, before you smoke out another unit.

marker227

May 11, 2013
New Jersey
I never fried my first one. The installer did. I finished wiring the second one myself. I will fix the horn loop tomorrow. I figured it out. I need a shop that can program the unit for me.

C2Installs

May 24, 2010
Tennessee
marker227 said: