Kevlar Vest

charlie82

May 21, 2010
PA / USA
I am considering buying a Kevlar vest to wear when I am working on the ambulance. I have no experience in this field. I am not looking to buy the farm, but what is a fairly priced good vest to get?

charlie82 said:
I am considering buying a Kevlar vest to wear when I am working on the ambulance. I have no experience in this field. I am not looking to buy the farm, but what is a fairly priced good vest to get?

For a quality, comfortable vest, you're looking at LEAST $400 on up. All vests sold are certified to a particular threat level, the higher levels cost more. In the lower level armor, the more you pay, the more comfortable it will be to wear, generally.

I bought a clearance vest from Galls a while back. It was only $230 and is more comfortable than my last vest that cost $700. Check their website clearance area. They all have to be NIJ certified to be sold, and if you aren't wearing it 40 hours a week, who cares? Just measure properly, because fit does matter.

Decide if your risk is getting shot by a sniper, versus getting stabbed in the back of the ambulance. You may want a stab vest instead of a ballistic vest, they are totally different. Most ballistic vests are not rated against sharp penetration.

NPS Ranger said:
Decide if your risk is getting shot by a sniper, versus getting stabbed in the back of the ambulance. You may want a stab vest instead of a ballistic vest, they are totally different. Most ballistic vests are not rated against sharp penetration.

I wear a frickin' stab vest every day at work. Recently I tried on a ballistic vest, and was actually surprised how much more comfortable they are than stab vests....

Your logic is completely sound, I just loathe stab vests....

charlie82 said:

I thought I was the only one who did that! I wear a Safariland that's older than dirt, but it serves it purpose. It's pretty comfortable for the job.

Caleb