NASA Prototype Lander crash, burn and BOOM! with FD response.

DDCtech

Feb 7, 2012
Renton, WA
Crash happens right away
Burn until 1:56
BOOM! at 1:57
Burn some more for awhile
NASA FD apparatus shows up about 8:35
Get the popcorn and enjoy!
:popcorn:

Last edited by a moderator:

JazzDad

Aug 5, 2011
USA
I was supposed to have been sitting in that metal folding chair. Good thing I was late for work that day. :bonk:

JazzDad

Aug 5, 2011
USA
They need to park the white trailer a little closer next time.

Zapp Brannigan

Lifetime VIP Donor
May 23, 2010
May 21, 2010
LKN, NC
Not everyday you see an "ARFF" response caught on tape. Seeing as how the lander was un-manned I think the response was perfect. If I were the FD I'd be more concerned about the grass fire. As an engineer I weep for the scientific loss because of the millions of man-hours that were probably in that thing. But the moment that thing landed on its lid (guarantee it wasn't designed to do that!), it was all she wrote! The one engineer was heard over the radio talking about "2 of the 4 tanks had gone". You've probably got some liquid O2, and liquid H2, possibly some solid fuel too? I would have let that baby burn. I'm not sticking around for any BLEVEs!

lafd55

May 27, 2010
New York, USA
Why didn't they have a fire truck on scene? Most test flights that I have ever seen always have rigs on scene ready for a problem... Like this.

patrol530

May 23, 2010
Central Florida
Since it was a total loss anyway, I'd imagine they were waiting for the explosions to stop before allowing the FD to get close enough to put out the remains.

Firefly Berlin

Apr 25, 2012
Germany / Berlin
At both last times I was at Kennedy SC they had a couple of ex M 113 (equipped for fire supression) sitting around for situations like this.

Wonder why they didn't use one or more of them. :confused:

lafd55

May 27, 2010
New York, USA
Firefly Berlin said: