Split Patterns vs. Full Patterns

Jman423

Administrator
Sep 10, 2010
United States
Why do some people recommend full (lighthead) patterns and others prefer split (lighthead) patterns?

Discuss!

Please keep it clean and organized, this forum section is heavily moderated to keep information organized. We're going to use content from these discussions to compile a helpful guide for users seeking information about products in this industry.

WigWag75

Jul 5, 2012
Kansas
Since I'm still a noob I'm taking a risk on responding, be gentle!

Being on here for awhile I've noticed more dislike towards spilt patterns then any other. I've personally never noticed this until I came upon this site.

That being said, I don't mind split color heads though I believe interweaved light heads (Sho-Me brand is all that comes to mind at the moment) don't do as much. Only having say 4-6 LEDs lit up spaced apart is worse than having 3-6 LEDs grouped together on one side then the other.

Though EMS in a town just a few miles from me have an new ambulance

WigWag75

Jul 5, 2012
Kansas
Forgive my incomplete post. Technical difficulties.

The ambulance has all its lighting set to pinwheel, including grille and lower lights. It makes for a nice purple blob.

JPolston

Mar 27, 2012
Indiana, USA
Ready depends on exact light we are talking about. We have Whelen 600s on our rescue. All but one(installer did split fail on one that I'm going to figure out how to adjust myself) have a messed up top/bottom flash pattern. The pattern drives me insane on any application. That kind of light, it needs to be a full pattern. Very efficient and would be a much better footprint if we used a full pattern alternating on the sides.

T6 lightheads? I don't mind split color. Depending on the light, they can be very bright and efficient per application.