TwinSonic Question

Discussion in 'Vintage & Collectible' started by dg0223, Oct 10, 2017.

1. dg0223

dg0223 Member

I was just reading through the NYPD TwinSonic thread and I had a question. I am not an expert in everything, but from everything I've read, the TwinSonic "F" model had flashers that were rectangular in shape above the bottom half of a 12X mirror. However, the 12MEF pictured in the other thread has round flashers. Was this a custom option that was made for the NYPD, or were round flashers available on a TwinSonic model? Also, what does the M stand for in the 12MEF? I know the E was the exonomy model and the F was for flashers, but I don't know what the M was for.

Thank you for any information you can provide.

2. tsquale

tsquale Site Minion Platinum Level Member

You pretty much answered your own question. The round flashers are part of the economy model, which when the flashers are added also removes the mirrors. M stands for mid length bar, 48" iirc. If it was only a 12me the mirrors would be different (v shaped I think) and it would have no flashers.

3. dg0223

dg0223 Member

Gotcha, so the economy level lights were just basic round lights while the higher end models had the rectangular flashers with the fresnel lenses?

4. tsquale

That is correct. The higher end rectangular flashers also sat on top of a partial mirror.

5. dg0223

dg0223 Member

Yes, sir. The bottom half of a 12X mirror.

tsquale likes this.
  6. toon80

toon80 Veteran Member

Is it me or the Economy model, although cheaper, seems more efficient in every way compared to the usual 12F with half cascade mirrors ? Besides lacking the half cascade effect, the flashers are bigger and the V mirror delivers nontheless. The half cascade mirrors also are exactly that: half heigth, so probably less than half as efficient as full height.

tsquale likes this.
  7. Stampeed Valkyrie

Stampeed Valkyrie Senior Member Silver Level Member