Whelen Dominator behind Tahoe Grill

Mar 25, 2014
TX
I know this is a common install, but I'm really new to this and want to try to do this myself. 

Does anyone have pictures of a D6/8 installed behind the grill?  I just want to see what brackets were used and how it all comes together, so I can plan this thing out beforehand.

Thanks!

mikejr0711

Sep 25, 2013
Connecticut
Im sorry i don't have any pictures but i had a D8 mounted in my grill  (2007 LTZ) at one time and just used simple L brackets from home depot. I painted them black so they wouldn't show up. I then used bolts in one of the cross members in the lower half of grill and mounted it that way. I have since taken it out but will be putting it back in when i get home. I will be trying to put it in the top half if possible. If you have any luck with anything please let me know!

Mar 25, 2014
TX
What year Tahoe are you working with?
Well, shoot - I feel like an idiot, that's basic information I should have included.  2014.  It already has two Whelen speakers behind the grille as well, mounted using the standard Whelen brackets.

Im sorry i don't have any pictures but i had a D8 mounted in my grill  (2007 LTZ) at one time and just used simple L brackets from home depot. I painted them black so they wouldn't show up. I then used bolts in one of the cross members in the lower half of grill and mounted it that way. I have since taken it out but will be putting it back in when i get home. I will be trying to put it in the top half if possible. If you have any luck with anything please let me know!
Let me know if you find any pictures!  I bought mine with the Whelen L-Brackets, so hopefully I can just make use of those.  Worst case scenario I suppose I could mount it on the brush guard, but I don't really want a bunch of lighting fixtures visible all the time.  Draws too much attention when not in use.

mikejr0711

Sep 25, 2013
Connecticut