Whelen Edge Wiring Quick Disconnect

Rob95655

Jun 3, 2011
Mather, CA
Newbie here, so bear with me...

So I have a 2000 Excursion I use to tow a search and rescue trailer for the FD. I had a 1st gen Expedition and just upgraded to get more pulling power.

I have an Edge 9000 amber with 4 strobes, alleys, two front flashers and a traffic director in back. A total of 16 leads if memory serves (all strobe hot, ground, rear strobe only hot relay, wig-wag hot, takedown hot, left alley hot, right alley hot, traffic director hot, 8 traffic director segments ground).

I made a custom wiring harness that worked for my Expy, but I hated the way I made it "quick disconnect" (running 16 wires in a split loom back across the roof, down the inside of the back hatch to two 9 pin Molex connectors). Mounting the bar to the roof rack made for quick removal on the Expy and should do the same for my Excursion. I want to do better for the wiring.

I guess I have three options and I am hoping for some advise.

1) Get a wiring kit from EBay that uses a serial board (4 wires to the bar - pos, neg and 2 signal wires) for $150 but give up the roof traffic director.

2) Make a new harness (truck side) that runs down the back hatch and keep hating the look

3) Try an experiment I have had in mind that would use heavy gage hot and grounds to the light bar, but use relays inside and cat-5 to carry the relay trigger (not even sure if that would work, but would make any harness much thinner).

Well...4) Go with the best/cheapest suggestion you guys have.

I AM willing to drill a hole in the roof (already planning on a through-the-roof NMO mount for my VHF/UHF radio...easy to have the shop drill a 2nd hole at the same time).