I am now a FIRE CHIEF... PICTURES & VIDEO added! take a look...

fireman616wfd

Veteran Member
May 24, 2010
Oxford, MS
Ok so let me start by introducing myself to those who dont already know me.. I am Casey and I live in a small "village" in Webster County, Mississippi. I have been a full time firefighter for 6 years in a city about 45 minutes away from where I live and I am a part time deputy sheriff in the county in which I live where i am currently going through K9 training.

I was voted in Tuesday night with seventeen members present for the vote and the vote went 17-0 in favor of me being the new Fire Chief/Training Officer which I feel good about knowing I have the backing of that many people on a 25 man roster. Even though a few of the older members expressed concern about my age but said I was the most qualified.

Let me give you a little detailed insight about the dept... We have 25 members, 1 Chief / Training Officer, 1 Asst. Chief, 3 Capt's, 1 Safety Officer. The population of the WHOLE county is 13,000 people. In our fire district we have close to 1,000 people and are centrally located in the county and represent the county seat where we have the largest building in the county being the Courthouse which is a very large 2 story and the second largest church in the county.

We run fire and EMS where we have multiple members certified EMR's, EMT's, and a Medic.

We have 1 Engine which is a 1991 GMC manual with 1,000 gal tank. (a POS! haha)

1 "Rescue" which is a 1989 Suburban (have to ether it to crank it)

1 brush truck which is a 1988 GMC army truck (have to ether and put battery pack on it to crank)

Our Budget right now is $17,000 which is the most we have ever had at the dept. We have nice gear, and nice tools/equipment but no vehicles and nowhere to put stuff. We purchased new TNT tools off of a grant and had to mount them in a tool box on top of the Fire Engine.